Peace or Recipe?

IMG_20160414_033208

Let not your heart be troubled. You believe in God then believe in me. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go to prepare a place for you I will come back and take you to be with me so that you may also be where I am.

When I find myself going through hard times, when I’m in emotional turmoil, these are the words I say to myself. Whenever I’m asked to read or recite a scripture, this is the first thing that will roll out of my mouth. These words were spoken by Jesus and can be found in the 14th chapter of the book of John in the Holy Bible. (To be honest with you, they are paraphrased here but paraphrase works for me). This is how I explain the King James Version:

Let not your heart be troubled = “Don’t be afraid, don’t worry”

You believe in God believe also in me = “if you believe and accept God, believe and accept me”. This is said because Jesus was and is an earthly manifestation of God; he represents (represented) God in his teachings and in the miracles he performed. Some believe that Jesus was God in human form.

And if I go and prepare a place for you = “If you accept me, if you will have me, I will prepare a place for you”. Whatever place Jesus will prepare for me will be better than this place I’m in now. There are no words or imagination for what Jesus will prepare for me.

I will come again and receive you to myself = “He, Jesus, is coming back for me and will take me with him.”

That where I am you may be also = “I will always be in Jesus’ presence and Jesus will always be in my presence.”

Let’s skip down to the 16th verse: And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide (live) with you forever.

To me, this means that just as Jesus comforted his disciples, the Israelites and all those who knew him during his days on earth, Jesus will comfort me as well. And when he is gone and cannot comfort me, he will send me another Comforter. A replacement that is equal to him; and that replacement will comfort me Forever!  (To the end of my life).

I will not leave you comfortless, I will come to you (verse 18) = Jesus will not allow me to remain in the state of grief or any other cumbersome emotion. Instead, he will come to me, rescue me, befriend me or deliver me from such an awful state. He will provide comfort either through others or mentally, I don’t know how but I will be comforted.

Verse 13 says: “And I will do whatever you ask in my name so that the Father (God) may be glorified in the son (Jesus). You may ask me for anything in my name and I will do it” New International Version

Beloved, some of my secrets for healing are:

  • I Believe there is a God
  • I Believe that Jesus came to us on earth as a representative of God. He came to heal and to comfort.
  • I Believe that Jesus asked God to send mankind a replacement for himself.
  • I Believe that if you ask for anything in Jesus’ name you will receive it.
  • I Believe that if you ask to be delivered from agony, from depression, from grief, you will be delivered.
  • I Believe that the replacement Jesus asked for, regardless of what you want to call it, will provide comfort.

My names for Jesus’ replacement are Holy Spirit, Divine Love, Comforter, and Peace. I use them interchangeably but I prefer Holy Spirit.

I skipped some things that are in the 14th chapter of St. John. You can read it for yourself here

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you (verse 27).

Once upon a time I would have written this article in a way as to make it appealing to all mankind: believers and atheists. I would have pretended that there is a mysterious “something” that assists us, which delivers us, which does anything. Sadly, that is how I wrote my book: as if anyone could find comfort or healing. I wish I could revise some of the language or some of the mechanics I used in my writing. Frankly, I have no idea how an atheist deals with anything painful. I marvel at the arrogance of some and the disbelief of others who truly believe there is no God. For atheists and non-believers, may you find comfort in some of the recipes. But for the rest of us, I share with you a secret for recovering from the agony of grief, separation and utter disappointment:

The Comforter, whom Jesus left for us, will remove us from any kind of pain if we only ask. Ask. Ask. Even when you think you are being ignored ask and have faith that Holy Spirit will come to you. When you think that God or the spirit of Peace did not hear you, continue to ask and have faith that you are heard. Believe Jesus did not lie and believe this:

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you John 14:27

Living in constant pain, every day, for years, unable to function in life is not peaceful. Maybe there are some things you need to do move on. We’ll talk about that in an upcoming article. In the meantime another secret to healing can be found on  page 16 in the paperback  or ebook.

Leave a Reply

