The Busy Woman’s Dinner

I don’t think it would be safe for my health or my life to go another day without preparing something that don’t require 2 slices of bread for a meal for my husband.

I want jerk chicken, his and my favorite. O well, with all my wigs still wet because yesterday was shampoo and laundry day, I will not be leaving this house no time soon.

Jerk Chicken? No.

#1. Well let me combine some good seasonings: I dump the garlic powder out of its container and put in

1 Tablespoon garlic powder

1 Tablespoon L. Seasoning Salt

1 Tablespoon black pepper

1 Tablespoon onion powder

1 Tablespoon cayenne pepper

*½ Tablespoon ground turmeric

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Shake it up real good to mix it well

Now if there is a seasoning on this list that you just don’t like, then don’t use it. Put the seasoning that you like in that little bottle. I have 2 peppers because I like spicy food. I included cinnamon because it is good for diabetics, and nutmeg is on the spicy side. Most important: I include *yellow turmeric because turmeric fights inflammation. Eat this stuff and watch (or feel) the arthritis calm down. I eat it or put it in my smoothies. Be careful with turmeric, it is a strong seasoning with a strong flavor.

I wash the whole chicken that thawed overnight. If I had any sense I would have seasoned the bird last night and let it sit in the refrigerator.  Well I didn’t cos I’m trifling. I generously sprinkle the seasoning mix all over the bird and place him in the 350 degree pre heated oven.

IMG_20160511_123506160

I open a bag of Greens and wash them. In the pot I pour a container of vegetable broth #2  (??? O no!!! I need CHICKEN broth), slice a whole onion and add it to the pot. Put my greens in on top of the onions and broth, sprinkle my seasoning mixture all over, add more greens and sprinkle some more. Boil, turn down to simmer, place lid on greens. See #3 and #4

PhotoGrid_1463007357817

Rice. Yuk! Well Emeril Legasse will make it tasty

#2. More vegetable broth (I prefer chicken broth but I don’t have any), 3 cups of it.

Add to the broth cumin, black pepper, salt, onion powder, turmeric. (there are no scallions in the house), boil, add 1 ½ cups rice, boil, turn down to simmer, add 1 Tablespoon olive oil. Cook 20 minutes, turn off heat and let sit with lid on for another 10 minutes. This is called Yellow Rice.

Now if you are one that needs a big piece of meat in your greens or rice, well, you won’t like this. I prefer to keep my blood pressure in check without swallowing pills. However, since you are a fan of grease, spoon some of that grease from the chicken that’s in the oven baking and plop in your greens and your rice too. The chicken flavor will help it out.

Cook your greens until they are tender, however long it takes. OMG these greens are not collards they are mustards!  OK I hate mustards because they are always bitter. I will add a lump of brown sugar to these mustards, a lil more seasonings, a cup of hot water and keep it moving. If I wanted them to be delicious I would have bought fresh collards.

Start your chicken without a lid. Let it get good and brown, maybe 30 minutes, then lid it or place foil over it so that bird cooks down to the bone. Bake it until it is done. If your baked chicken is too dry (I like mine crisp) Spoon your pan grease over your chicken, add ½ cup hot water to the pan, put the lid back on and let it sit in the oven for about 10 minutes more. The stream will make everything perfect.

Too bad I didn’t have any chicken broth in the house; I usually do.

Greens, yellow rice and baked chicken. Now I get to continue living, continue writing and continue life with my husband and his full stomach.

I enjoy cooking; it is therapeutic for me and one of my healing secrets. I don’t do nothing fancy, just produce a good, nutritious meal.  On normal days I have a more organized approach to cooking with a collection of good recipes my mother used often. Yes, there is more in the collection than chicken, (laughing) it’s just I keep chicken in the freezer and it is easy to cook quickly. And I am trifling and trifling people cook the same stuff in different ways and the same stuff be good every time! We do this because we are comfortable with the familiar.

Eat to live, don’t live to eat! Turmeric, cinnamon and leafy greens are power foods. I keep strawberries in the house so guess what’s for desert? That’s right, bright red, fiber rich strawberries. Mmmmmm

Psssst……Let me share a secret with you…

PhotoGrid_1463010567058That’s Right!!! Thank you for stopping by. Now that you have my secret…don’t  just leave me 🙂     Please come back                                

 Next Time: The stress of cleaning house.

Leave a Reply

