Quick Spaghetti for tonight

Today is another day that I quickly prepared a dish or “Threw a meal together” as my mother would say.

If you have a pound of ground turkey and a couple of cans of tomato sauce, you can have some sloppy joes, lasagna or spaghetti. I chose spaghetti.

To make spaghetti sauce, brown your ground turkey with salt, pepper and oregano. Cook it until it is grey, done. In another pot dump 16 ounces of tomato sauce. Add a tablespoon of brown sugar and a lot of Italian seasoning. Add a fourth of an onion, sliced. Taste your sauce and add what ever is needed. I put celery salt in my sauce and lots of Italian seasoning and basil. Why? Because ground turkey is tasteless; healthy but it has no taste. You have to add the flavor and I add it by using mega amounts of Italian seasoning or basil and oregano. I add sugar to take the bite out of the canned tomatoe sauce; it tends to be too acidic for my taste.

If you like spicy food, add Cayenne pepper or fresh sliced jalapeno peppers to your meat and cook it together. Spices cling to ground turkey.

Add the cooked  ground turkey to the tomato sauce. Heat until it is boiling, then turn down to a simmer. In the meantime, prepare a pot of water for your pasta/ spaghetti. Pour about a tablespoon of oil into your water so the spaghetti don’t stick together. Drop the pasta, about a half pound for every pound of meat, but that is your choice, into boiling water, turn the heat down to medium and cook until done, about 6 minutes. Drain the cooked pasta and  pour it into your spaghetti sauce. If you want  a healthy dish, drain your pasta and run hot water over it to remove the starch, drain again. If you are really concerned about healthy eating, use whole grain or whole wheat pasta. I will post a recipe that use  fresh tomatoes soon.

Let’s talk about meat sauce and its consistency. My formula is 1 pound meat to 16 ounces of sauce for a hearty, meaty sauce that can also be used to make lasagna. Today I used three 8 ounce cans of sauce because I wanted my sauce not so meaty. If I was makeing chili I would have used only 2 cans of sauce.

IMG_20160615_224635
Brown your meat
IMG_20160615_162644440
Add sliced onion, sliced peppers or anything else you choose to add
IMG_20160615_162444232
Add seasoning to your sauce
IMG_20160615_225043
Combine the meat with the sauce and simmer for at least one half hour

 When you are ready to serve you have choices: either pour the cooked, rinsed spaghetti into the sauce, or place spaghetti on the plate and serve the sauce on top. The choice is yours. I chose to combine the two and serve it to myself in a bowl.

Add a nice vegetable/garden salad that includes spring greens or spinach, cucumbers, carrots, green and red bell peppers. Serve the salad with spaghetti.

Readers guess what? I bought ground chicken by accident and did everything I posted  above….and it is good! Now I know that I can use both ground turkey and ground chicken to make a good spaghetti sauce. I added lots of Cayenne pepper to my ground chicken because we are spicy eaters… and…it was good.

Thank you for visiting and staying to the end. Try this with either turkey or chicken and share your experiences or your thoughts.

Categories:

Leave a Reply

