The joy of ground beef

Followers and visitors, you know I only “do” ground turkey. Well Gene says ,”Men like beef!!!” so to keep a happy home I went out and bought some beef. The ground beef I purchased was 90% lean, which I consider healthy but the lady in the store said that 90% meant little to no fat and that the good taste and flavor comes from the fat. Well sorry husband, no fat beef for you. I chose two dishes to make with my no fat 90% lean ground beef.

Stuffed Bell Peppers

I diced an onion and crumbled/chopped the 2 pounds of beef with seasoned salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper and onion. I fried this in Sunflower oil, my oil of choice for frying. When it was done I added my left over yellow rice and a can of oregano tomatoes and a generous amount of red pepper flakes. Mix all that real good. I cut the tops off of two green peppers and gently hollowed them out. I filled the peppers with the meat mixture, put their ‘lids’ back on, placed them in a casserole dish, poured a 1/4 cut hot water inside the dish and placed a lid on top. I had no tomato paste or tomato sauce so I was forced to be creative. Pushed that in the oven at 350 and cooked for about 20-30 minutes. You are baking it to soften the bell pepper because that pepper will be an eatable bowl. When almost done I grabbed a bottle of barbecue sauce, removed the “lids” and squirted. Placed the lids back on and squirted some more. Cook until the pepper is tender.

photogrid_1480126012813

There will be enough mixture to stuff at least 4 peppers but I stopped at three because this was  test. You can top the peppers off with a marinara sauce  or any sauce of your preference. Instead of the ‘lid’ you can add cheese to the top and let it melt into the meat/pepper. This is also an excellent way to use leftovers or hide vegetables from the kids and the picky. I didn’t have the ingredients for a sauce so I used what I had: barbecue sauce. Mr. Man was happy so that’s all that count.

photogrid_1480125023696

Serve. My hot water bread makes a good accessory.

Leave a Reply

