Doing a new thing…in a new year

Happy New Year and Welcome to Year 2017!

First, let me tell you that I appreciate all of your stopping by, your “like”, your “follow” your comments and your messages.

Let me share a Message, a Word or a pearl of wisdom my pastor gave us on the first Sunday of this year. From Isaiah 43:18-19 “Forget the former things; I will not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing!” (New International Version) or for the old school crowd who prefer King James: ‘Behold ye not the former things, neither consider the things of old. Behold I will do a new thing; now it shall spring forth; shall ye not know it?”

By the way, that’s God talking in these two verses. Verse 19 continues: “Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland” or (King James) ‘I will even make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.’

Well if God can ‘forget the former things’ and ‘not dwell on the past’, why can’t I?

This is a new year and we are commanded to not live in the past, to not dwell on the headaches of last year because God is going to change it up and do something different. What looked desolate and bleak is going to come alive because God is going to do something new, something different and when God gets in the mix and do things, the “new thing” will be very positive and very good.

O let us not get hung up on words and facts. ‘I will even make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert’ mean more than a river running in Arizona or thru the Mojave Desert. Those words go beyond swimming in the Sahara. I say we should look at those words in this manner: The place in one’s life that are dry, barren or appear dead is the very place where God will show up with a plan (river) or with a rescue. God will bring water to the desert in our life.

So you think you did something really bad and God will punish you for it? Whatever it is you did that you think is so bad, forget it! Well, ask for forgiveness and move on. Verse 18 says God will not dwell on the past because He is doing something new. One of the “new” things that God is doing is forgiving us for whatever wrongs we have done. He will make a way for you in the wilderness of your discomfort, sorrow, etc. by giving you the gift of the Holy Spirit to comfort you and bring you peace.

I thought this particular text was a wonderful way to begin a new year and it basically instructs us to have a new attitude, to stop worrying or dwelling on the past. Don’t look back! I might add that when we consider what’s going on in the world during the time of this text, God is talking to the Israelites as they leave Babylon. God allowed them to be captured and taken to Babylon because they were a disobedient people and did not adhere to his laws. Now they have been released from Babylon and are returning home. This is like a second exodus; the first exodus took place when the Israelites left Egypt and were caught up in the wilderness/desert for 40 years. While they were in the wilderness life was harsh for them, yet God met their every need. This time when they return from Babylon, instead of receiving water form a rock struck by Moses, God will give them flowing rivers. This exodus, leaving Babylon, will not be as harsh as leaving Egypt. They are not to dwell on those 40 years because God has something new for them. God made a turn around or an about-face and changed it up: Instead of punishment God brought comfort. Instead of agony and discomfort from living in a desert/wilderness he brought relief in rivers. God is the same yesterday, today and forever and He will bring us rivers when we are in a desert.

If this was not amazing enough the “Christian Life Series” of Union Gospel Press Sunday School curriculum for January 8 gave this text as the Golden Text: ‘O sing unto the Lord a new song…”’ from Psalm 96:1.  Sing a new song can be translated to “have a new or different attitude.” To me, “sing a new song” mean for me to stop talking about my autoimmune disorder and talk about something new/different. It means I can sing “I have major discomfort due to this autoimmune disorder but I am strong enough to tell you that with God, nothing is impossible.”

For those of you who know me you know I have an autoimmune disorder that I’ve never identified here only mentioned that it exists. That’s because I am aware that many people are walking around with a challenge similar to mine and we not only survive, we succeed and accomplish a lot and in different areas. We are survivors and victors!!!

In addition, I am aware that a good blogger gives their audience something on a regular basis. The conference I attended online said in order to remain a relevant, successful blogger the blogger should engage their audience on a daily basis thru social media. When one cannot post a blog they can continue their interacting by posting pictures, quotes and the like. Some advised me to be authentic with my readers and tell them I have not been here because I was sick or had a flare up. Others said no, acknowledge that you’ve been away for a while but remain vague about why. But you all already know.

This year let us not dwell on the past. This is the year that we watch God pull us out of our wilderness and bring water into our desert. Let us expect God to do a new thing, let us watch God do a new thing and let each and every one of us find a new song to sing.

In the meantime, I will show up and post when I can and Healing Secrets will sing a new song. You are all always welcomed here and your comments are welcomed too.

E

 

 

One Comment

Leave a Reply

